top of page

Two More Pull; One Becomes Candidate

Two more potential candidates have filed their intention (“pulled papers”) to run in the March 25 Annual Town Election: Megan Kelley for Goodnow Library Trustee and Robert Beagan for a 3-year seat on the Park and Recreation Commission (see complete list below).


Beagan is seeking re-election. Kelley currently serves on the board of the Goodnow Library Foundation.


Laurie Eliason returned her nomination papers and the signatures have been certified by the Town Clerk’s office, making her the second official candidate for the March 25 Annual Town Election. Eliason is seeking re-election to a 3-year seat on the Park and Recreation Commission. She is currently running unopposed.


To become an official candidate, those running must file their intention to run (“pull papers”) with the Town Clerk or District Clerk, gather signatures of registered voters on their nomination papers, return those papers to the Town Clerk or District Clerk, and then those signatures must be certified by the Town Clerk’s office.


There are 17 open positions on this year's Annual Town Election ballot. You can find a complete list here. You can find information about how to run for office on the website. You can learn how to register to vote or update your voter registration at


The period for potential candidates to file their intention to run is from Thursday, Jan. 4 to Wednesday, Jan. 31. Nomination papers (“signatures”) must be returned by Feb. 2. Any Sudbury registered voter may run for office. Potential candidates do not need permission from a board or committee to run.


According to the Lincoln-Sudbury Regional District Clerk, as of 8:46 a.m. Jan. 17, and the Town Clerk’s office, as of 12:01 p.m. Jan. 19, the following people have filed their intention to run:


Select Board

(2 seats, 3 years)

Janie Dretler (official candidate)


Sudbury School Committee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Karyn Jones


Lincoln-Sudbury Regional School District Committee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Catherine Bitter (Lincoln)



(1 seat, 3 years)

Catharine V. Blake


Board of Assessors

(1 seat, 3 years)

Joshua Fox


Goodnow Library Trustee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Megan Kelley


Board of Health

(1 seat, 3 years)

Linda Huet-Clayton


Park and Recreation Commission

(2 seats, 3 years)

Laurie Eliason (official candidate)

Robert C. Beagan


Park and Recreation Commission

(1 seat, 1 year to fill a vacancy)

William Atkeson


Planning Board

(2 seats, 3 years)

John Sugrue


Commissioner of Housing Authority

(1 seat, 5 years)

Sherrill P. Cline

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page