top of page

Nerssessian Withdraws from SPS Race, Poch Certified for Select Board

Silvia Nerssessian has withdrawn from the hotly-contested Sudbury School Committee (SPS) race in the March 25 Annual Town Election. Nerssessian is the current committee chair. Nerssessian notified the Town Clerk of her withdrawal Monday.


Four official candidates remain in the SPS race: Karyn Jones, Jean Nam, Mary Stephens, and Richard Thalmann. Nerssessian is the third person to withdraw from the race.


The Select Board race is now officially contested, with three official candidates running for two seats: Janie Dretler, Daniel Carty, and Eric Poch. The Town Clerk’s office certified the nomination papers of Eric Poch Monday.


To become an official candidate and appear on the ballot, those running must file an intention to run with the Town Clerk or L-S District Clerk, gather signatures of registered voters on their nomination papers, return those papers to the Town Clerk or L-S District Clerk, and then those signatures must be certified by the Town Clerk’s office. The deadline to take those steps has passed.


You can learn how to register to vote or update your voter registration here or at


According to the Lincoln Town Clerk’s office as of 3:02 pm. Feb. 5, the Lincoln-Sudbury District Clerk as of 3:08 p.m. Feb. 5, and the Sudbury Town Clerk’s office, as of 3:15 p.m. Feb. 5, here’s a list of the official candidates and those who have withdrawn:


Select Board

(2 seats, 3 years)

Janie Dretler (official candidate)

Daniel E. Carty (official candidate)

Eric D. Poch (official candidate)


Sudbury School Committee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Karyn Jones (official candidate)

Jean O. Nam (official candidate)

Mary T. Stephens (official candidate)

Richard M. Thalmann (official candidate)

(Carla Curley - withdrawn)

(Danielle Stackpole - withdrawn)

(Silvia M. Nerssessian – withdrawn)


Lincoln-Sudbury Regional School District Committee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Catherine Bitter (Lincoln resident) (official candidate)

Maura Carty (Sudbury resident) (official candidate)



(1 seat, 3 years)

Catharine V. Blake (official candidate)


Board of Assessors

(1 seat, 3 years)

Joshua Fox (official candidate)


Goodnow Library Trustee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Megan Kelley (official candidate)

Eriko Frank (official candidate)


Board of Health

(1 seat, 3 years)

Linda Huet-Clayton (official candidate)


Park and Recreation Commission

(2 seats, 3 years)

Laurie Eliason (official candidate)

Robert C. Beagan (official candidate)


Park and Recreation Commission

(1 seat, 1 year to fill a vacancy)

William Atkeson (official candidate)


Planning Board

(2 seats, 3 years)

John Sugrue (official candidate)

Stephen Garvin (official candidate)

(Christopher Marotta – withdrawn)


Commissioner of Housing Authority

(1 seat, 5 years)

Sherrill P. Cline (official candidate)

49 views0 comments


bottom of page