top of page

Two File - for SPS, Planning Board

Two more potential candidates have filed an intention (“pulled papers”) to run in the March 25 Annual Town Election: Carla Curley for Sudbury School Committee and Christopher Marotta for Planning Board.


There are now five potential candidates for two seats on the Sudbury School Committee (pre-K to grade 8) and three potential candidates for two seats on the Planning Board.


The deadline to pull papers is this Wednesday, Jan. 31, at 5 p.m. Nomination papers must be returned by Friday, Feb. 2. Any Sudbury registered voter may run for office. Potential candidates do not need permission from a board or committee to run.


Returning their nomination papers (“signatures”) Monday were Maura Carty for Lincoln-Sudbury Regional School District Committee, Silvia Nerssessian for Sudbury School Committee, and Daniel Carty for Select Board. Their papers have not yet been certified by the Town Clerk’s office.


To become an official candidate, those running must file their intention to run with the Town Clerk or L-S District Clerk, gather signatures of registered voters on their nomination papers, return those papers to the Town Clerk or L-S District Clerk, and then those signatures must be certified by the Town Clerk’s office.


There are 17 open positions on this year's Annual Town Election ballot. You can find a complete list here. You can find information about how to run for office here and on the website. You can learn how to register to vote or update your voter registration here or at


According to the Lincoln-Sudbury Regional District Clerk, as of 2:53 p.m. Jan. 26, and the Town Clerk’s office, as of 4:30 p.m. Jan. 29, the following people have filed an intention to run:


Select Board

(2 seats, 3 years)

Janie Dretler (official candidate)

Daniel E. Carty


Sudbury School Committee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Karyn Jones

Danielle Stackpole

Silvia M. Nerssessian

Jean O. Nam

Carla Curley


Lincoln-Sudbury Regional School District Committee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Catherine Bitter (Lincoln resident)

Maura Carty (Sudbury resident)



(1 seat, 3 years)

Catharine V. Blake


Board of Assessors

(1 seat, 3 years)

Joshua Fox


Goodnow Library Trustee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Megan Kelley

Eriko Frank


Board of Health

(1 seat, 3 years)

Linda Huet-Clayton


Park and Recreation Commission

(2 seats, 3 years)

Laurie Eliason (official candidate)

Robert C. Beagan


Park and Recreation Commission

(1 seat, 1 year to fill a vacancy)

William Atkeson


Planning Board

(2 seats, 3 years)

John Sugrue

Stephen Garvin

Christopher Marotta


Commissioner of Housing Authority

(1 seat, 5 years)

Sherrill P. Cline (official candidate)

24 views0 comments


bottom of page