top of page

Sixth Pulls for SPS Committee

A sixth person, Mary T. Stephens, has filed an intention (“pulled papers”) to run for Sudbury School Committee (grades pre-K-8) in the March 25 Annual Town Election.  There are two open seats on that committee.


The deadline to pull papers is tomorrow, Wednesday, Jan. 31, at 5 p.m. Nomination papers must be returned by Friday, Feb. 2 at 5 p.m. Any Sudbury registered voter may run for office. Potential candidates do not need permission from a board or committee to run.


Two more potential candidates returned their nomination papers (“signatures”) Tuesday:  Megan Kelley for Goodnow Library Trustee and William Atkeson for the one-year term on the Park and Recreation Commission.


The Sudbury Town Clerk’s office certified the signatures of three more people Tuesday, and they are now official candidates:  Karyn Jones and Silvia M. Nerssessian for Sudbury School Committee, and Maura Carty for Lincoln-Sudbury Regional School District Committee. The Lincoln Town Clerk’s office certified the signatures of Catherine Bitter and she is now an official candidate.


To become an official candidate, those running must file their intention to run with the Town Clerk or L-S District Clerk, gather signatures of registered voters on their nomination papers, return those papers to the Town Clerk or L-S District Clerk, and then those signatures must be certified by the Town Clerk’s office.


There are 17 open positions on this year's Annual Town Election ballot. You can find a complete list here. You can find information about how to run for office here and on the website. You can learn how to register to vote or update your voter registration here or at


According to the Lincoln-Sudbury Regional District Clerk, as of 11:57 a.m. Jan. 30, and the Town Clerk’s office, as of 5:15 p.m. Jan. 30, the following people have filed an intention to run:


Select Board

(2 seats, 3 years)

Janie Dretler (official candidate)

Daniel E. Carty


Sudbury School Committee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Karyn Jones (official candidate)

Danielle Stackpole

Silvia M. Nerssessian (official candidate)

Jean O. Nam

Carla Curley

Mary T. Stephens


Lincoln-Sudbury Regional School District Committee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Catherine Bitter (Lincoln resident) (official candidate)

Maura Carty (Sudbury resident) (official candidate)



(1 seat, 3 years)

Catharine V. Blake


Board of Assessors

(1 seat, 3 years)

Joshua Fox


Goodnow Library Trustee

(2 seats, 3 years)

Megan Kelley

Eriko Frank


Board of Health

(1 seat, 3 years)

Linda Huet-Clayton


Park and Recreation Commission

(2 seats, 3 years)

Laurie Eliason (official candidate)

Robert C. Beagan


Park and Recreation Commission

(1 seat, 1 year to fill a vacancy)

William Atkeson


Planning Board

(2 seats, 3 years)

John Sugrue

Stephen Garvin

Christopher Marotta


Commissioner of Housing Authority

(1 seat, 5 years)

Sherrill P. Cline (official candidate)

32 views0 comments


bottom of page